[Konvas] Phantom Lens Set on Ebay?

XiaoSu Han xax at stilfabrik.at
Sat Jan 3 14:28:43 CST 2009


I wasn't looking to buy them anyways, was just curious in the end.

There's a Schneider Xenon set on reduser.net for sale, it's very well
priced and would be interesting, anyone knows anything about those
lenses? The seller says that they cover 35mm.

75mm Cine-Xenon
2/50mm Schnieder-Xenon
2/40mm Schniede-Xenon sticky ap-ring dial... blades turn with focus...
annoying but totally usable
2/35mm Schneider-Xenon
2/28mm Schneider-Xenon

arri mount...

On Sat, Jan 3, 2009 at 8:51 PM, H. W. Stone <colcam at aim.com> wrote:
> Ouch.
>
> A few points.
>
> I have never bought from this seller--  but more than once, when my first
> question was answered and I asked specific questions on a couple pieces of
> gear, he would not respond.
>
> The 'title bar" does not always serve to identify what is in the auction.  A
> different seller had "PL" in the titles of every lens he listed, including
> c-mount-- on the grounds you could buy an adapter to put it on PL.  When
> eBay finally suspended him it was because he was putting all sorts of words
> in his listing to trigger searches-- in white text on a white background so
> you could not see it.  More than once I have gotten a lens that LOOKED like
> one mount, but was not-- some "Arri standard" mounts that were bigger than
> Arri and had less backfocus were the worst, but I also got Eyemo mounts that
> were just a tiny bit small and had a locking groove too shallow, so they
> rattled around in the camera, but focused-- more or less.
>
> And here I feel Peter and I agree.
>
> Be careful.
>
> Unless the TEXT very, very CLEARLY defines the mount, don't trust it--
> particularly since what you see is what you get, no matter what it is.
>
> Don't trust titles.
>
>
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Peter Haas <peterhaas at cruzio.com>
> To: Konvas Discussion List <cinema at konvas.org>
> Sent: Sat, 3 Jan 2009 2:08 pm
> Subject: Re: [Konvas] Phantom Lens Set on Ebay?
>
> On Jan 3, 2009, at 10:02 AM, FauxFilm at aol.com wrote:
>
>> I'll agree... I know primes set prices have gone up since the last > time
>> I bought any (a couple of years ago), but they seem high. > QUITE high. If
>> they were superspeeds and a known brand....maybe. > But these are 2.1's and
>> of completely unknown origin.
>>
>> If they were a desirable type/brand surely the seller would be > touting
>> that, rather than being so purposely mysterious about it: > "Note: This set
>> of lenses is not Arriflex Zeiss"
>>
>
> The seller is a well-known hoarder of all-things-cine.
>
> He's got cameras and lenses from the 40s through the present day in his
> "bunker" high up in the Coast Range Mountains, in Frazier, CA.
>
> He almost always prices his stuff as if it was worth a million bucks, and
> perhaps it was ... once.
>
> It is by now quite common to include in an ePay official description all
> kinds of trademarks to fool the unwary.
>
> RED is now a popular item, so expect to see RED included in all kinds of
> items which are not in any way related to RED, just as PANAVISION and ARRI
> were incorporated into descriptions in the past.
>
> "Maker unknown" is just that seller's way of saying "I know the maker, but I
> don't want to tell you, lest you be disinterested in my stuff".
>
> It is tantamount to selling something as-is with the claim "Untested", when
> the reality is "Tested, and known to be defective".
>
> _______________________________________________
>
> ________________________________
> Get a free MP3 every day with the Spinner.com Toolbar. Get it Now.
> _______________________________________________
> Cinema mailing list
> Cinema at konvas.org
> http://konvas.org - All about Konvas, Kinor and other Russian Cinema Cameras
>
> Be sure to Check out the online Forums:
> http://konvas.org/forum/index.php
>
> Visit the discussion archives:
> http://konvas.org/list-archives.html
>
> Join the Konvas Discussion List:
> http://konvas.org/mailman/listinfo/cinema_konvas.org
>
> Please be kind when replying and crop the replied message!!!
>
>



-- 
XiaoSu "Xax" Han
http://www.stilfabrik.cn



More information about the Cinema mailing list